Featured LSMS Physician Artist



Cover Photo: 'Tis the Season Copyright 2007 Donald J. Palmisano, MD, of Metairie, Louisiana (Orleans Parish Medical Society).

Donald J. Palmisano, MD, JD, FACS, a native of New Orleans, is president of Intrepid Resources®, a clinical professor at Tulane University School of Medicine, a former president

of the Louisiana State Medical Society and the American Medical Association, and author of the best-selling book, *On Leadership - Essential Principles for Success* (www.onleadership.us).

Dr. Palmisano has been taking photographs since age 17. His photography has been recognized in juried art competitions throughout the years. In the 2008 Physicians Art Association contest, he won first prize in the Advanced Photography category for *Archipelago* and honorable mention for *'Tis the Season*. Both images are featured in this issue with *'Tis the Season* on the cover. These images reflect his experimentation with motion and light for *'Tis the Season* and computer enhancement for *Archipelago*. His photographs have been on the covers of medical and photography publications and grace the walls of numerous homes and offices as well as hospitals nationwide. Samples of his nature photography are featured at www.naturesreflectionslimited.com, and are sold under the trademark Nature's Reflections[®].

Macrophotography of small flowers is a particular interest and one of Dr. Palmisano's goals in his art is "to capture the fleeting beauty of flowers for all to enjoy in a moment of solitude. The aging clock possibly stops for each moment we delight in the flower's beauty. Certainly stress, the accelerator of aging, ceases."



Archipelago Butterfly Copyright 2002 Donald J. Palmisano, MD, of Metairie, Louisiana (Orleans Parish Medical Society).

From the Editor - In Appreciation

The *Journal of the Louisiana State Medical Society* is indebted to its peer reviewers who have provided timely, thoughtful reviews to help the Journal provide quality medical articles to its readers. **Thank you for your continued support!**

Robert Batson, MD Edwin Beckman, MD Joseph Biundo, MD J. Philip Boudreaux, MD James Brawner, MD Patrick C. Breaux, MD William Bundrick, MD Salvador Caputto, MD John Carlson, MD Mark Cassidy, MD Murat Celebi, MD H. Jay Collinsworth, MD Ed Connolly, MD Richard A. Coulon, Jr., MD Joseph Crapanzano, Jr., MD Louis Cucinotta, MD Vincent Culotta, MD Rene DeBoisblanc, MD

Nina Dhurandhar, MD James Diamond, MD James Diaz, MD Richard Dickey, MD John L. DiLeo, II, MD Luis Espinosa, MD K. Barton Farris, MD Elizabeth Fontham, MD AJ Friedman, MD Abraham Gedalia, MD William Griffies, MD Lynn Harrison, MD Robert Hewitt, MD John Hunt, MD Bernard Jaffe, MD Trenton James, III, MD Lester Johnson, MD Dennis Kay, MD

Kevin Krane, MD Erich Lang, MD Maureen Lichtveld, MD Nora Lopez, MD Brobson Lutz, MD Thomas McCaffery, MD Ellen McLean, MD David Mushatt, MD Joseph Nadell, MD Harold Neitzschman, MD Bedford Nieves, MD Patrick Peavy, MD Steve Price, MD Roberto Quintal, MD Raoult Ratard, MD Katharine Rathbun, MD John P. Reilly, MD Robert Richards, MD

Donald Richardson, MD Frank Riddick, MD William C. Roberts, MD Donna Ryan, MD Oliver A. Sartor, MD Charles D. Scher, MD Leonardo Seoane, MD David Snyder, MD Russell Steele, MD Aluizio Stopa, MD Jack Strong, MD Pramilla Subramaniam, MD Frank Svec, MD Louis Trachtman, MD Bayard Tynes, MD Hector Ventura, MD Merlin Wilson, MD Gazi Zibari, MD